Very Strange Spam Site / Link Farm?

Posted July 31, 2007 at 2:26 PM by Ben Nadel

I can only assume that this is a spam site or some sort of weird link farm site:

http://clickblog.com.br/posts/Ecard

It mentions my blog several times in the content but in a totally disconnected and non-sensical way. It even has the phrase "All content is the property of Ben Nadel and Kinky Solutions" in it. But it's all broken english. Very strange!

I can only assume that it is grabbing keywords and phrases from blog aggregation and using it to make it seem like it has valid content so as to boost the ratings of the links on the right. Any ideas? Should I be worried? Will this reflect poorly on me?

Note: I don't want to link it directly cause I don't want to give it any help with ratings.



Reader Comments

Jul 31, 2007 at 4:13 PM // reply »
1 Comments

you can find a phrase in there that is unique.. search for it on Google and then when that page shows up in the results you can use the googlespam reporting page
http://www.google.com/contact/spamreport.html
to report them as a link farm with stolen and duplicate content.

I don't think it does any good.. but sometimes it's good when you're in a pissed off mood and want to feel like you've at least tried to counteract their efforts.


Jul 31, 2007 at 4:36 PM // reply »
1 Comments

On Google, yes if that blog (spam) links to websites with a "bad reputation" likes farms-links it could hurt your reputation (as long as it is linked to you also) if not you will just have a competitor less on your keywords!

On Yahoo and Live I'm not sure of how it works with reputation, but may be nearly the same...


Jul 31, 2007 at 4:57 PM // reply »
11,246 Comments

Well, the page doesn't link to me, it just mentions my blog / name amist the ramblings... plus, I can't seem to Google and phrases on it, so I guess it is not index well.


Jul 31, 2007 at 8:35 PM // reply »
13 Comments

As I am sure you are aware Google periodically will update its index and remove sites like that from their database all together but in the mean time there isn't much you can really do about it as far as I know. I have been getting several like these for my website and it is not anywhere as popular as yours. Just another one of those annoyances that we have to deal with!


Aug 4, 2007 at 3:53 AM // reply »
14 Comments

I read an interesting article recently from webconfs.com that talked about "Bad Neighborhoods". Might not add much to the conversation here but thought it'd be worth noting. Thanks!

http://www.webconfs.com/bad-neighborhood-article-13.php


Nov 20, 2007 at 6:36 AM // reply »
1 Comments

I wonder how much will a site like that exist... i think Google bans them immediately.


Dec 27, 2007 at 10:56 AM // reply »
1 Comments

Link farms should be banned from all search engines, you should not be able to get to a URL that is associated with a link farm unless you type in the URL specific in the address bar.

Link farms hurt the entire web - they hurt those searching the web for legitimate content by wasting time and effort with misleading garbage.

The one sure fire way to end link farms is to ban them from all search methods and to end the revenue stream that is generated for the link farm owners. If no one can find the link farms in the search engines and the sites become unprofitable for the owners the link farms will fade away.

I also recommend that no one ever click on a link found on a link farm. If you arrive at a link farm and see a link that catches your eye, open a new browser and find the link yourself.

Link farms cheat and hurt everyone associated with the web.

Just my 2 cents worth . . .

Kobie


Jul 8, 2008 at 2:18 PM // reply »
1 Comments

Really this is a strange site, is a SPAM site, if you go to home, and press "Enter" you look that redirect to a similar Hotmail page, but i don't know if it is true.

Are they getting hotmail pass with this??

Regards


Sep 12, 2009 at 6:11 AM // reply »
1 Comments

I have seen things like this all over the place, even being perpetrated by "reputable" companies. I guess it's supposed to help with Search Engine Optimization? There are some that I've been seeing for months that google still hasn't taken off. This one, for instance: http://www.medretreat.com/about_us/links.html

Other than that, it seems to be a legitimate company. Is that really supposed to help their site's reputation? Is it considered spam?


Sep 12, 2009 at 8:59 PM // reply »
11,246 Comments

@Jakeausten,

I get all kinds of crazy comments on this site; and sometimes, I can't even tell if they are spam or not.


Nov 5, 2009 at 3:54 AM // reply »
1 Comments

If it's just one link, then it's fine since your blog is of fairly high quality. But looks like it could very well be spam site. I am seeing 11,000 inbound links to that site and it's still a page rank 0 after update. What you can do, is that if the referrer is a bad link farm or suspicious site, you redirect it to a custom error page, this way it doesn't hurt your main page no matter how many bad links they built to you.


Post A Comment

Comment Etiquette: Please do not post spam. Please keep the comments on-topic. Please do not post unrelated questions or large chunks of code. And, above all, please be nice to each other - we're trying to have a good conversation here.

Please review the following issues:

Author Name:


Author Email:

Author Website:

Comment:

Supported HTML tags for formatting: <strong>bold</strong>   <em>italic</em>   <code>code</code>







  • Help Wanted - Find Your Next ColdFusion Job
Ben Nadel's Company - Epicenter Consulting Recent Blog Comments
May 25, 2013 at 10:01 PM
My Experience With AngularJS - The Super-heroic JavaScript MVW Framework
@Avi, Really glad to help! @Jaredwilli, I'm finding a this image hits home with a lot of people :) Hopefully we can all work through the rough patches together! @Prateek, AngularJS has error ... read »
May 25, 2013 at 9:53 PM
Nested Views, Routing, And Deep Linking With AngularJS
@Mrsean2k, I'm glad I could help! I haven't been able to keep up with the ui-router stuff. I keep saying that I'll carve out time, but I just haven't gotten to it :( ... read »
May 25, 2013 at 9:49 PM
What If All User Interface (UI) Data Came In Reports?
@Jonah, Thanks for the book recommendations. I am looking them up right now. I can see that Object Thinking is available for the Kindle App - sweet! Also, I just recently heard Martin Fowler on the ... read »
May 25, 2013 at 9:41 PM
HashKeyCopier - An AngularJS Utility Class For Merging Cached And Live Data
@Chris, I'm super excited to hear that my posts are helpful. I am also loving AngularJS; but, it definitely has some caveats and some odd behaviors and some things that just don't seem to "wor ... read »
May 25, 2013 at 9:36 PM
Ask Ben: Manually Enforcing Basic HTTP Authorization In ColdFusion
@Adam, @Jason, After reading these comments, I double-checked my latest implementation and I am happy to report that I am using listFirst() and listRest(). ... read »
May 25, 2013 at 9:31 PM
Using "//" And ".//" Expressions In XPath XML Search Directives In ColdFusion
@Daxesh, I am not sure I understand the question about the current node. If you already have a reference to the current node, why would you need to query for it? As for parent node, I believe that ... read »
May 25, 2013 at 10:08 AM
Using "//" And ".//" Expressions In XPath XML Search Directives In ColdFusion
@Ben, my question is that i want the current node with its tag and its parent node. i just want only that data. So, give me the solution for that. and remember solution is working on " xpath 1.0 ... read »
May 25, 2013 at 10:01 AM
Using "//" And ".//" Expressions In XPath XML Search Directives In ColdFusion
hey ben, i want get my current node tag and also want the root node tag withing. So, how can i fix it.. ! ... read »
InVision App - Prototyping Made Beautiful With Prototyping Tools